top of page

Learning Myself Through Astrology 3

The Importance of Ascendant:

Each planet in astrology runs on its own speed, as they do in astronomy. Because of this, outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto) which have bigger orbit to cover, stay in the same sign for a long time. The inner planets (Mercury, Venus, (Earth), and Mars) occupy a sign for not nearly as long. In astrology, the Moon and the Sun are considered as planets. The Sun stays in one sign for a month, and the moon for more or less two days. This makes these planets "personal", as they are quick to change, and not nearly as "generational" as the outer planets. However, the most personal placement in our charts would be the Ascendant, or the Rising, which is the point in our births wherein the sun rises. The ascendant stays in a sign for merely 2 hours, which is why we need to know the exact time of our births.


In basic terms, the Ascendant sign tells how we look or seem like to other people. It can even describe one's physical appearance. But more importantly, the Ascendant sets the sign which lies on our first house. The Ascendant indicates the cusp of the first house, and by doing so, it designs the order of the signs in our charts. Moreover, this implies that the Ascendant produces the course of the flow of our lives. The ruling planet of the sign that falls on the ascendant is the Chart Ruler, and depending on which planet this is, can alter the major "theme" that runs on us from birth till death.


I never really regarded my Ascendant at first because I didn't know what it was for. But later on, and after observing a lot of truths after reading readings about the Ascendant, I though I'd have to thank my Ascendant in Taurus.


Taurus is ruled by Venus, which in turn, rules my chart. Venus is the planet of beauty, pleasure, and what makes you define your love, not necessarily to other people. Now having Venus as a chart ruler, situations in life are generally structured towards beauty. This doesn't mean I didn't go through hardships, it's just that I found more support from my surroundings and I seek to find beauty in anything that catches my attention. Now Taurus, being fixed earth, is the most stubborn sign. It is the most resistant to change. This, I know, is true. I've been stubborn and skeptic at almost everything since I was a child. And I hated change. I still can't accept change that fully until now, but I am learning to slide with it. This is because Taurus is ruled by Venus, so it finds security in things they are comfortable with. Once they find an environment that conforms to their needs, they don't want to change it. That's why they are so stubborn, and this is true to my life. I've been into situations where I have to adapt from time to time, but I guess I've learned it early, when I, myself chose to be in an environment of people older than me. Nevertheless, I still struggle to adapt, as the universe seems to be telling me to get used to it. The cosmic alignment of my natal chart is basically challenging itself.


More interestingly, I've learned to accept myself when it comes to indulging in beauty. I used to question why I never found beauty in sharp edges, the more "masculine" type of beauty. I liked delicate, gentle things. I, myself, am gentle when I move. Back then, people used to taunt me, saying I don't move and act like a boy, but now I've realized that since the Ascendant dictates how I'd be seen by other people, it wasn't a surprise. Taurus, being an Earth sign (feminine), and being ruled by the planet of beauty, love, and pleasure, I am meant to lean more on the gentler side. I don't care about taunts from other people anymore. They don't care if I tell them about what I understood. Moreover, I've always been surrounded by female figures since childhood. Mother, sisters, female cousins, and I hate to say it but I'm not that close to my dad, well, at least not as close as I want it to be. It doesn't matter, though. All these led me to the life I live now, and I am satisfied with it.


The good thing that comes about this is that people must find me easy to be around with. Taurus is also the sign of comfort, which is probably why I don't look like someone who'd put up a fight, or at least someone who'd start it (and someone who'd get through it). This is even more prominent when it comes to girls. Not to brag, but I've always been easy to be with girls. This stems much from my childhood and my household. Most of my friends are girls, it's probably because I find it easier to get in touch with their interests as it aligns more with mine. My Ascendant is probably behind all this, and even my other personal planets, Sun in Cap (Earth) and Moon in Pisces (Water), are feminine signs. Sometimes, it makes me wonder if I'd always only be looked upon by the opposite sex as a support, as a friend, but not someone they'd really get romantically involved with. But I don't think about this that often since I am very satisfied with having friends, sometimes even more so than having (even if I haven't experienced yet) a romantic partner, having my Venus in Aquarius (probably expand this in another entry if I find more about my Venus). After My Ascendant kicks in, my Sun then takes over, and only a few close friends would realize the sternness in my Cap sun.


I've learned to understand my Ascendant and how it has affected and will affect my life greatly. I am thankful for the support I find from my surroundings and the trail of positivity it brings, even though the negativity in my Sun takes a whole lot of toll on myself.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page