top of page

[Introduction to] Why You Should Stan Seventeen Part 1: The Members

Okay, so I finally finished my first Socky fic (which had been rotting on my Notepad for days), and now I believe I have the time to write the first part of my introduction for Seventeen. Also because I am kind of in the good mood. These days, mood is actually hard to find. I do nothing but fanboy, but that is because I don't know how to do anything and I feel like crap.

Anyways, I'll officially start with this post. Seventeen. Just what is it with them that made me stan them real quick? Seventeen is a south korean boy group, and no they don't have seventeen members. They have 13. For this first post about this amazingly talented group, I'd be introducing the members.

A little backstory on how I got into Seventeen: so some time last year, I got bored and decided to watch some kpop videos. Kpop isn't really new to me, but I wasnt a really big fan of it either. When I was in highschool, I was a huge fan of Super Junior. I watched a lot of variety shows for SuJu because they are so damn hilarious. BUt back then, I was really young and I didn't know what being in a fandom or "stanning" a group is. So yeah, last year I got bored and decided to check some kpop videos and one of the groups I checked out was Seventeen. There were a lot of videos I watched: Winner, BTS, Astro (I am a fan of Astro as well but this is for another post), a few others. Seventeen stood out to me the most though, I don't know why. Perhaps their songs were more of my style, though I admit at that point the song I genuinely say I did like was Pretty U. I wasn't a carat yet at that point. I just made a note to myself that Seventeen are good. When they released the comeback for Aju Nice, that's when I started watching their eventeen Project, becuase boy, these guys are talent. From that point onwards, I can't stop myself and I've eventually reached the black hole of being a carat. I bought their their albums and I'm going to their concert in Manila this October 6th. There's no turning back now. I am a full-pledged carat, complete trash for Seventeen.

Okay now for member introductions. Hmmm. I don't know what order should I introduce Seventeen... But maybe I'd just differentiate them through their units. Okay, first off. Seventeen is divided into three units (Vocal, Hiphop, Performance). They have thirteen members. The reason why they're named Seventeen is, as they've showed it a million times, 13 members + 3 units + 1 group = 17. Yay, simple Math! So first, I'm gonna introduce you to the vocal unit (aka my bias unit).

The Vocal Unit

Okay first, appreciate this unit. Listen to this song. Listen to their voices. Listen to that harmonization. I suggest you watch the video first and finish it until the end before going back to the next paragraph.

Okay, not that long right? I hope your ears are blessed.

Okay so the leader of this unit is my baby Woozi (real name Lee Jihoon) (he is one of my three biases, I can't pick one, okay???), This little boy is born in 1996. He plays a very large role in Seventeen, as he is a wonderful lyricist, composer, and producer. Yes, all songs of Seventeen (except some Performance and Hiphop unit songs) have been tainted by Woozi's talent. He is the one in the leftmost side, and starts singing at 0:42. Okay I'm gonna emphasize this part right here because Seventeen has been named as the "Self-producing-dols". These idols make their own songs. All members take part in song writing, but Woozi participates in writing, composing, and eventually producing the song (Along with Bumzu, Pledis' producer) I'm just saying it here because not a lot of idol groups create their songs. I'm serious. This is actually one of the main reasons why I decided to stan Seventeen.

Okay, the next member I'd introduce is DK. HIS.VOICE.IS.HEAVENLY. I dare say he is one of Kpop's best vocalists of this generation. I don't know a lot, but I can assure 100% he could be one of the best. He starts singing at 0:35. DK, or fully Dokyeom (real name Lee Seokmin), is born in 1997. In real life, DK is such a goof. He is so innocent and funny, I swear, especially in their One Fine Day Season 2 in Japan. But on stage, damn this guy possesses such great charisma and power. This might not show his vocals so I'mma just put a link. You can skip the video of course. But if you want to hear him sing then be my guest. You won't regret it.

So if you watched the video, did you just see how effortless he sang that song?! WOW! Just wow. And if you look at the comments it's just compliments after compliments. A lot of people are saying that he can easily switch his head voice and chest voice. I don't know what that means but that's probably hard. GO DK GO.

Okay so next, we have our Seungkwannie. Seungkwan (full name Boo Seungkwan) was born in 1998 and is an actual ball of sunshine. When I first got into Seventeen, I honestly didn't really pay much attention to Seungkwan. But when I first watched their videos, my attention is always captured by him because he is so funny. He knows how to give the members an enjoyable time. He's also an aspiring MC and I.SUPPORT.HIM.ALL.THE.WAY. He starts singing at 0:28. His singing has improved so much and he's already great at it before. These guys just keep on improving actually.

Okay so next we have Jeonghan (full name Yoon Jeonghan), born in 1995 and is one of the eldest. When Seventeen was still new, and as you may have not known, there are certain titles given to each member in a group. Jeonghan's title was "Angel" because he looks like an angel (especially when he still has his long hair on, it got cut now, though). Apparently that's not the case because in real life, this guy loves to bring trouble to the other members. He loves to do other members embarassing things, and he does it so well in an interview-style kind of talk. Also HE.CHEATS.A.LOT like when there are games, he will always find a way to cheat his way through it lmao Jeonghan is so sly I love him. Also his voice is unique. He starts singing at 1:24. Jeonghan has really improved so much, too.

Lastly we have Joshua from LA. Joshua (korean name Hong Jisoo) is also part of the hyung line, born in 1995. Now this guy is also my bias. When I first watched Seventeen's Pretty U, I was determined to pick him as my bias. I don't know why. I just did. He still remains as my bias akong with Woozi and another guy you'll meet later. He starts singing at 1:53. His part is very short (ugh ugh ugh) but I.LOVE.HIS.VOICE.SO.MUCH. It's so soothing, really especially when you hear their other songs. It;s also funny because when I haven't known Seventeen at all at first, and I was just listening to their songs, I could somehow tell that "I think this voice belongs to Joshua" and 90% I'm right. Despite being in the vocal team, his parts are usually short, which is something I'm sad of. But lately, he has been getting quite a lot so it's great. Okay this guy is usually quiet. He is initally titles as Seventeen's gentleman because boy he do. But I was fooled either. Sure, Joshua talks very quietly, and he seems so gentle, but put him together with the other hyungs (with Jeonghan as mastermind) and he can be untouchable. Also lately, specially in OFD S2, he's been losing his cool.

Before we move on to the next unit, I'd love to bless your ears one more with a rearranged version of Aju Nice. Seriously, you'll love this. You'd never have thought something as boppy as Aju Nice could turn into something like this. Also they rearranged this song themselves :)

Performance Unit

So the next unit I'll introduce is the perf unit. So this unit is in charge of the dancing. Not saying that the others can't dance (they all can dance excellently well, actually), but they are in charge of it. And by in charge of it, I mean they help in creating the choreographies. YES. You read that right. Not only does Seventeen create their own songs, their members create their choreographies as well!!! I don't know about you, but I say that's the real talent. The main choreographer of Seventeen is Hoshi, perf unit's leader, but sometime the other members of the unit help him to it. Okay so first watch this:

That is Seventeen's performance unit, filled with unending swag and coolness. Please clap for them.

Okay so first, I'll introduce the leader, and I've mentioned before, Hoshi (real name Kwon Soonyoung), born in 1996. So this guy is the choreographer of Seventeen. This genius created the amazing formations, transitions, and movements Seventeen shows onstage to wow the audience. I'll emphasize this again, in reference to their recognition as "self-producing-dols", because making choreography, especially for a thirteen-member group is extremely difficult and quite complex. I don't even know how Hoshi can manage to think all that, and by the way his choreographies are on point with the song. Also Hoshi is a cute little hamster, and is usually nicknamed 10:10, because his eyes slants up as if the hour hand and minute and of a clock is showing 10:10. Hoshi can be seen in 0:04. You can keep track of him easily.

Next member is Jun. Gawd. WEN JUNHUI, born also in 1996, is Chinese. Also, fun fact, he used to be a child actor. I haven't watched his movies (since I'm not a big fan of Chinese movies) but I've seen some pictures and boy, HAHAHAHAHAHA. I love Jun. Now this big guy is actually not that confident when it comes to speaking Korean. You can notice it since he doesn't really talk much. But the confidence level of this guy when it comes to his looks is higher than the Empire State. And really, he'd not kidding. He is visual material. I'm just so happy because lately he's been talking much. Go Junhui! Watch him start the song at 0:13.

Okay next is my boy The8. The8 (real name Xu Minghao), born in 1997, is also Chinese. Now The8 is an absolute bias wrecker. See, I have three top biases in Seventeen and when I see The8 perform I just lose it because he is such a bias wrecker! He is more confident than Jun when it comes to speaking Korean, and boy is this gy filled with swag? He likes to dab lmao he does it like all the time. Also he's savage af. What's funny is that he was initially in charge of the aegyo (now it is usually given to Woozi, who ABSOLUTELY HATES AEGYO but is really good at t becuase he's already cute without trying) lmao even remembering it now I cringe because what was Pledis thinking assigning aegyo to The8? Hahahahah i'm so glad all the members like forgot about that because now The8 is just promoting swag wherever he goes. Personally, out of the perf unit, I like him best in dancing. I mean each of the members have their own style. You can see it once you've really gotten into Seventeen that these four members have their style in dancing. I like The8 the best and that's probably why he's such a bias wrecker. Watch him at 0:54.

Finally, we have Dino. Dino (real name Lee Chan) is the maknae or youngest of Seventeen, born in 1999 (what he's younger than me? What does that make me? huhu). Now Dino is a Michael Jackson enthusiast. he can literally turn any choreography, whether it be a boy or girl group song, into a Michael Jackson style of dance. This maknae is overflowing with talent becuase he can sing well, too. AND.HE.ALSO.RAPS. Okay, for the triple threat of this group, it definitely goes to Dino. Dino is the youngest but he's not in charge of aegyo (thank God) because he doesn't really like it (and honestly, who likes to do aegyo at all) and he's really not good at it lmao sorry Dino. But that's nothing because he's such a master at dancing with such power. Bless Seventeen for having a maknae like Dino. Watch him take center at 0:27.

Watch Perf Unit's version to their debut song, Adore U.

Hip-hop Unit

Finally, were down to our last unit. Hiphop unit is in charge of the rapping. Yes, all members here are the rappers of Seventeen and they bring the coolness. A lot of people are also saying this is the Visual unit of Seventeen, which is also true, but well all of Seventeen are visuals, actually. First, have a listen to a track of their mixtape, Check In:

I hope your loving the song becuase when I first heard it I was like "Dang! I'm not really into rap songs but Dang. This was lit!" Okay so I'll start with the introductions.

First off, we have Seventeen's leader for Hip-hop unit, and Seventeen itself's ultimate leader, S. Coups . S. Coups (real name Choi Seungcheol) is born in 1995 and eventually completes the Hyung line. Now this man looks like a kid becuase, I don't know for me he looks like a kid. His eyes are gorgeous. Watch him start the second part of the first verse in 0:23. Now this leader is a great bully, but when he gets teamed up with the other hyungs (Jeonghan and Joshua), he's the one who gets bullied, despite being the eldest. S, Coups is a reliable person, and though he acts and reacts like a kid sometimes, all the members respect him. Being the leader, he leads the group interaction and says "Say the name!" (their introductory line). I don't have much to say abuot S. Coups but that I sometimes forget that he's the leader because he's just so chill most of the time.

Next we have Wonwoo (full name Jeon Wonwoo), born in 1996. JEON WONWOO COMPLETES MY BIAS LIST. Yes, he's the third person to fill in my top three. I mean just look at him. Okay I haven't told you yet where he is. But wow, if I'd be gay for any member of Seventeen, I'd definitely be gay for Wonwoo. He reads books. He has this aura of coolness. He's silent. His voice is very deep. He has a killing gaze. Boy, Jeon Wonwoo you are rude. Okay enough with the compliments this guy is actually a devil. I mean OFD S2 was probably the full potential display of how evil Jeon Wonwoo can be. Ignore his quietness. Ignore how he seldomly speaks (though he does sing quite a lot lmao), because when he talks, it could either be to say something so painfully true or something menacing. *Sigh*. Jeon Wonwoo what to do with you. Plus just listen to his deep voice rapping! Come on! At 1:12.

Next we have Mingyu (full name Kim Mingyu), born in 1997. Kim Mingyu is a representation of a visual (but sadly Check In is his my least favorite look for him because srsly Pledis? Orange Hair? WhAT?) Nevertheless, he is a true visual, just don't look for it in their video in Check In. Now this guy is probably what the girls would say perfect boyfriend material. Looks: check. Gentlemanliness: check. Cooking skills: check. Housekeeping skills: check. Jungle survival skills: check (lmao he recently guested in Law of the Jungle). Talent: check. Kim Mingyu is skillful in a lot of ways, but there's a catch, he is the clumsiest member of Seventeen. LMAO even Seventeen recognizes it. He almost dropped a trophy once. A TROPHY they just recieved lmao. There are a lot of other things. In their Vlives he just drops something he is holding. One time he was fanning his face with his hands becuase it was hot and he hit himself. Also LMAAAAOOOOOO he is naughty look at the compilation videos of him on Youtube sneezing and then rubbing his hand on the other member's hair or back or whatever Kim Mingyu what is wrong with you HAHAHAHAHA. Listen to his unique nasal tone in rapping at 1:28.

Finally, we have our last member, Vernon (full name Hansol Vernon Chwe), born in 1998. This guy is Leonardo diCaprio in his teens. Seriously. Okay backstory since Vernon played a vital role on why I got into Seventeen. See when I told you the first time I watched their videos, it was during the Yeppeuda era. I had my eye on them at that time but I wasn't a fan yet. Now later, someone I follow on tumblr reblogged a picture of Vernon. And I was like "Whaaat? This caucasian guy is an idol in kpop? Say whaaa?" (He's actually half-American and has stayed in Korea longer, so he's fluent in Korean, but also real good in English) So I checked the tags and found out his name. I searched it on google and voila! He's actually a member of Seventeen? So that got me quite intrigues with the group more. And so at that time Aju Nice era was up and I watched the video and eventually because Seventeen trash. The End. But yes, thank you Vernon, for pulling me back into Seventeen. Okay, so this guy is like, how do i put this, uhmm. Okay so Vernon is weird. Really. Vernon is weird and Seventeen even agrees on that. He sometimes laughs by himself and the other members wonder why he does it so suddenly. He says he imagines a lot of things, too, like create scenarios in his head. Also he likes Drake a lot? He dances and moves and idk Vernon is really weird and you wouldn't have thought he is like this if you'd see only his face. But other than that, Vernon is an adorable maknae (being part of the maknae line with Seungkwan and Dino) and he is best friends with Seungkwan, it's just so cute. Watch this boi start the song at 0:08.

Okay that's just a really short introduction since they are too many. I don't think I've done it justice because they are actually all so better than what I've written. These guys are really funny. You will get what I mean when you start watching their variety and reality shows. Try some, if you have time, and you'll see just how adorable these 13 dorks are. Also they are very humble, and they continue to strive to be better even when I think they are already good enough. They love their fans a lot, like you can really feel it once you've watched a lot of their videos. They always think about the fans and makes sure that we are never disappointed. They are hardworking kids. They play a very big part in formulating the success of their songs and their performances and that's what makes them rise as a team. They even helped their company a lot. Pledis was almost falling down, but Seventeen helped the company rise up! You can actually see how low-budget their debut song and album was (in terms of visual), and eventually it gets better and better because the sales for their albums really helped in pulling the company up. Not to mention Pledis doesn't have to hire choreographers and producers since THEY BASICALLY DO IT THEMSELVES. Pledis is really blessed to have Seventeen. And Seventeen really deserves all the recognition they could get. I am a proud carat and I do not regret being one. Plus, during the times when I was always so sad in my fourth year of college, they never failed to make me laugh, which is something I really needed.

As a closing remark, I'd like to add their video of Healing because this never fails to put a smile on my face. I hope this makes you smile too.

Now, as a recap, (maybe also because you might try to identify themselves through this vid, I'll help you). But also you can ignore this and just enjoy the song and the video.

At 0:56, starting the song, that is Joshua.

The one in the pool at 1:14 is Vernon.

Following Vernon at 1:23 is The8.

The cutie holding the cam at 1:25 is Woozi (The8 still singing).

Vernon is at 1:30 again (At this time Wonwoo sings).

The jumping baby at 1:32 is still Woozi (Jun sings at this part).

At 1:36, left panel is Jeonghan, right panel is The8 and Mingyu (Hosih sings this part).

LMAO at 1:38 is Wonwoo.

The cutie reaching his high note at 1:43 is Hoshi and who follows is Mingyu at at 1:44.

At 1:52, that is Jeonghan singing.

At 1:56, that is Joshua on the left and Mingyu on the right (DK is singing).

At 2:00, that is Jun and S. Coups, The8 on the right side cut in the frame.

At 2:01, that is Vocal team minus Woozi.

2:09, taking pictures is S. Coups.

2:14 is DK. Look at the dork. Also at 2:18.

The cutie holding the cam at 2:20 is Seungkwan.

And the one behind him at 2:26 is S. Coups.

At 2:31, during the song break, that is Hoshi playing with maknae Dino.

2:47, fixing his hair is Mingyu,

2:52 lmao is Seungkwan.

At 3:20, sharing the food is Joshua with Dino.

These sunshines at 3:31 is Seungkwan and DK.

And the cuties at 3:39 is Mingyu and Jeonghan.

3:41, pulling the cart is S. Coups, on the cart is Jeonghan.

3:51 is WOnwoo (me iz *DEAD*)

4:21 is Dino.

At 4:34, cut on the frame is Wonwoo. Shock face #1 is Vernon, beside him, as cute as ever, is Woozi.

It's also Woozi having a moment in the bus at 4:36.

4:38 is Jun (thank God)

4:39 Seungkwan and Wonwoo

4:41 The8, Mingyu, S. Coups, DK, Joshua from left to right.

4:47 is Jun.

Four dorks at 4:58 is Hoshi, Joshua, The8, Mingyu.

5:04 leader S. Coups.

5:17 with the cam is Vernon. Watching him is Jun. Joenghan at the back.

at 5:26, that is S. Coups. and after that is the iconic scene they did at the start of the Mansae music video. Poor leader got tricked into this Hahahahah i love seventeen.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page